Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

Back from Training Camp

This is going to be one of those it-struck-my-fancy posts, so please bear with me if the level of coherence seems a little lower than usual.

This past weekend, I was off in Atlanta, Georgia attending a martial arts training camp. I could detail in earnest how much fun it was, all the stuff I learned, the people I met, the spiritual environment and so on, but I’ve decided just this once to restrain my loquaciousness and go for a more wayward, “sound-bite” approach.

A quick, more-or-less snapshot of the weekend:

The P.E. building where we worked out (complete with a PA system ever reminding us it was time to go)

"Rise above your enemies so you can drop-kick them in the face!"

"Attention. The P.E. Building will be closed in 15 minutes. Initiating timeblock sequence."

"I saw a man jump over house!"

"Attention! The P.E. Building is now closing in 10 minutes. We are releasing the zombie Dobermans and killer bees!"

Only time I've ever seen someone break five boards (the most is usually three)

"The P.E. Building is closing in 5 minutes. We are now setting the building on fire!"

Yes, it was a weekend full of fun and learning.

(By the way, the airborne guy in the 4th picture is my brother)

3 responses to “Back from Training Camp

  1. Rachel June 6, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    sounds like a full weekend! though flying down to Atlanta sounds a bit intense for me…

    • Timothy June 6, 2011 at 3:49 pm

      Actually, we drove the whole way there (do not underestimate the homeschooler minivan!) It was a pretty long drive (about 10 hours I think), but overall, the trip was heaps of fun. =)

  2. Xander June 6, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    actually it was 18 including Duke.

Leave a Reply

