Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

Blessings

(Please read below first)

This song has been running through my head a lot lately, and I wanted to share it. You might already be familiar with it.

I didn’t pick this video because its pictures were especially stirring or its effects especially beautiful. There are many other videos of this song online, that are also well-made and filled to the brim with pictures of amazing sunsets and people praying. The visuals are not the reason I’m sharing this video.

Don’t get me wrong; of all the videos I looked at, this one may be my favorite. There are some truly lovely pictures and poignant moments captured in it. But for the sake of letting the song take center stage for a moment, I ask that you watch it once with your eyes closed. Just the first time through. Forget that there’s a computer screen for a moment. Let the beauty of the music wash over you. Reflect on the meaning of the lyrics. Listen to the heart of the song.

If you wish to watch it again afterwards to enjoy the visuals, by all means do. But please don’t let the images distract from the song itself. I find that I do this all the time. I’m so focused on the appearance, I forget the meaning. Don’t fall into that trap. Allow yourself to just listen.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

(Note: This post and the one preceding it were originally intended to be one post, but sometimes plans get changed mid-execution…)

3 responses to “Blessings

  1. Sarah Beth July 29, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I love this song. It is such a good reminder that God’s plans are often not the same as our’s, and God’s plans always work out better than we ever dreamed anything could.

  2. Janice Hidey August 3, 2011 at 3:18 am

    Tim, I too love this sing. I know the author. She worked in Young Life in South Carolina under my sister. I also really appreciated your post before this one. Real wisdom for a young man.

  3. Dorothy August 3, 2011 at 4:59 am

    Now it’ll be back in my head again. Well, I guess that’s a good thing to have running through your head for days on end, but if I sing it out loud it won’t sound as good because there will be no Timothy voice-from-nowhere harmony to back it up :). I love the bridge to this song…”This is not our home” really hits me.

Leave a Reply

