Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

My time: A reflection and a goal

Sometime last week, I came to an interesting conclusion:

I haven’t been that busy lately.

I’m not sure if this is a statement that won’t be true again for a long time (let’s hope not…), or if it’ll be like this for most of the remaining school year. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, since it’s my senior year and I’ve heard that this curious phenomenon happens sometimes (why and how I haven’t the foggiest), but it still feels decidedly odd. I have a lot more time on my hands than is usual, and it feels like having an extra arm.

So what am I to do with myself?

This question haunted me vaguely, until one day, following a bout of blatant time-squanderance on the Internet, I came to this conclusion:

More time means more freedom (and of course, as every parent would say, more responsibility). I could easily use this time to become the biggest time-waster I’ve ever been.

Or.

This could be the most fruitful season of my life yet.

Time is an endless store of possibilities. Almost no commodity is as precious, undeserved, and useful (and taken for granted) as time. The same is true of the “extra” time I’ve been given (though really, all time is extra and a gift). How can I do any less than to invest it as worthily and productively as I can while I have it?

I want to use my time in worthwhile ways. I want to work hard at all my duties and obligations (both long-term and short-term), as well as in the things that aren’t really required of me, but that are helpful, and bring joy to others. I want to rest as I should (that too is an element of productivity, and an often overlooked one). I want to utilize my skills and talents to create and discover the worlds that have been placed at my fingertips. I want to drink deep of all the joys, large and small, that have been graciously put into my life. I want to forge ahead, and plunge more deeply into the things of God; deeper than I’ve ever gone before.

Obviously, these are lofty goals, and doubtless at times I’ll be severely disappointed with the results (and the one pursuing them). But onward I go.

All this will be especially important this particular week, since just about every one of my classes and activities are off for Thanksgiving. I have a ton of time on my hands.

Here’s to hoping that it’ll be well spent.

Ever to His glory,

~ Timothy

2 responses to “My time: A reflection and a goal

  1. Rachel November 22, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    well that inspired me to stop cruising the internet and start doing homework… kudos to you!

  2. whisper234 December 2, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Time…. time is so ridiculously precious, yet just as ridiculously easy to waste. I have such a hard time with it, and there’s never enough. >_< *sigh* I think I must be missing something. Some kind of crucial goal or system or order…. probably it's just that my priorities are so out of order.

    Heh. I echo Rachel. Off to homework. I have a paper to be faced. *puts on a brave face, for courage, because she needs it, and vanishes in a cloud of smoke*

Leave a Reply

