Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

Videofest: Tribute to the violin

I don’t play the violin. Never have, probably never will (though I play the piano, so my Asianness is intact). But that’s completely irrelevant.

The violin is an amazing instrument. It may seem odd that I’m starting out here with an electric violin video, but it’s one of my favorite songs, and I believe the violinist here does a beautiful job of it (as far as my musically-taught but violin-untrained ear can make out).

(I don’t know this particular violinist, but she has a few other pretty awesome electric violin videos on her channel; check them out if you’ve got time.)

I can’t even fully comprehend just how expressive and versatile the violin really is… and it only gets more amazing when brought together with voice and other instruments.

Check this out:

When I showed my dad this video, he asked me if I’d ever heard of another band, which I hadn’t, so we looked it up. Here’s the first video we found:

Awesome, no?

Praise the LORD! Praise God in his sanctuary;
   praise him in his mighty heavens!
Praise him for his mighty deeds;
   praise him according to his excellent greatness!

 Praise him with trumpet sound;
   praise him with lute and harp!
Praise him with tambourine and dance;
   praise him with strings and pipe!
Praise him with sounding cymbals;
   praise him with loud clashing cymbals!
Let everything that has breath praise the LORD! Praise the LORD!

  ~Psalm 150

Soli Deo Gloria,

~ Timothy

P.S. I suppose they had lyres and harps back then instead of violins, but I wonder what this psalm would sound like today on our strings… Worth a thought.

One response to “Videofest: Tribute to the violin

  1. Sam December 22, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Wonderful videos! Glad you posted them. I really enjoyed the third one, Soli Deo Gloria. I never played violin, but I’ve always loved listening to one.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

