Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

A surprise for a friend

No Great Proposal

From what I’ve heard, throughout the years
It’s been done in many ways.
Some with a sudden question,
Some with planning that takes days.
Some brave humiliation,
And act for all to see.
From on a raised up tabletop
Or down on bended knee.

Some ask a simple question,
Some hold an ornate sign;
Some draft their friends to spell their plea
While standing in a line.
Some write their invitation
Using paint or candle’s glow.
Some fashion songs or dance routines
Or make a video.

I have no flowers in my hand
No candles at my feet.
I have no guitar-led serenade
No flash mob on the street.
I have no great proposal,
No rose or plastic ring.
But as a friend I treasure, Ellen,
Will you go to Prom with me?

*   *   *   *   *

Two years ago, this guy was invited to prom by a good friend of his, but being the guy, he decided to turn the tables and “ask” her in a special way (as seen in the link).

Incidentally, I am that guy’s younger brother and the friend I’m going to prom with is the girl that he went with’s younger sister. (They have a younger sister too, about the same age as my younger brother; but that might be a bit much.)

As depicted in my poem, multitudes of people have done prom proposals in a plethora of ways; sometimes publicly, sometimes indirectly (and sometimes both, such as through a video posted online). While public displays and indirect messages may be cute, in my opinion they either put way too much pressure on the one being asked (to make the crowd-pleasing decision), or can act as a cop-out for asking the person face-to-face. For those reasons, I personally think that prom proposals (or any other kind of proposal for that matter) are best done privately and in person — generally speaking.

But when the real asking has been done (as it had been in my brother’s case), I like the idea of doing something creative and thoughtful. So following my brother’s example somewhat (though I chose poetry over dance as my medium), this simple poem is what I came up with.

I hope it gives her something to smile about when she looks back on being asked to prom.

Cheers,

  ~ Timothy

P.S. By the way, in case you’re wondering if she’s seen it yet, I already sprung the surprise by asking her to “preview” this post before publishing it. So this post has been approved. I hope you enjoyed it too!

2 responses to “A surprise for a friend

  1. Noelle June 15, 2012 at 10:47 am

    I approve of this. 🙂

  2. Author Thelma Cunningham June 25, 2012 at 1:20 am

    I have nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award. Place picture on your site. Select six others to award.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

