Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

Appreciating Readers (award): Kudos!

No, this post was not planned either, but what’s one more interruption to my precious plans? Once again, I have received an award (from the same esteemed blogger no less, whose blog can be found here), which I shall acknowledge accordingly:

As I said last time, I am aware of two things about these awards: 1) WordPress has formal rules about how these awards should function, and 2) I don’t know what those formal rules are, and I can’t find them to save my life. So, like last time, I’m going to resort to the well-tested method of making it up as I go along. (Once again, a thousand apologies to any bloggers out there who actually understand these awards and are dying inside from my incompetence.)

All I know about this award is that it goes to six people. I already talked about myself in the last award, so I don’t think I have to do that again. One thing that I think I’m supposed to do that I didn’t do last time is list a few other blogs that I enjoy. Since a number of my award recipients are bloggers, I figured I’d hit two birds with one rock and do it all now.

So! Here are, in no particular order, my six nominees:

I’m not sure if the first comment I ever received (chronologically) was from her, but she does have her name on the first comment of my very first post all those eons ago (which should make her happy; she finds satisfaction in being at the head of the line, unless of course we’re talking firing squads or penguins being bumped off icebergs).

If she had a kindred spirit in personality that was male, I think he’d be called Frank. Rachel’s one who’s not afraid to share her mind when need be, and I have found this to be an invaluable trait in her, both as a provider of feedback… and as a friend.

Kudos to Rachel for being first and for having all the Frankness frankness!

One of the first to discover my blog before it was announced to the public. I still smile when I remember her brief indecision between appreciation (for having found it through the help of another) and most justified outrage (for not having been told). She graciously chose appreciation (as it was a much nicer feeling than outrage), but I still felt compelled to provide an explanation for the delay in announcement. I was promptly and wholeheartedly forgiven.

Kudos to Sarah for turning from outrage when requested!

http://seeingbeauty.wordpress.com/

Inspirationally speaking, Noelle is the primary reason I started blogging (and incidentally, the reason Sarah Beth discovered my blog while it was still so fresh).

Noelle began her walk as a blogger a little over two years ago (about one year before I did). Hers was the first blog I began following, and though it has undergone several transformations over the years, appearance-wise and conceptually, it remains the “heart set to words” it has always been; full of simple, powerful prose, expressing the ineffable, the beautiful, and (more recently) the untold. As a blogger, it is unequivocally my first love.

Kudos to Noelle for her beautiful prose, written only to express the workings of a beautiful mind and heart; all to bring glory to an even more Beautiful God.

http://chasingjabberwockies.blogspot.com/

Noelle’s blogroll is quite the intersection. Through it, Sarah Beth came across my blog. And through it, I discovered the blog of a friend, known only to the web as the mysterious spy whisper. *wind blows in the background dramatically*

I’ve only met whisper once or twice in person, but I have never regretted becoming a regular visitor to her most distinguished blog. The miscellaneous postings of this scintillating blogger never fail to give my heart a lift, and I often find her prose too hilarious for words. Always writing with wild abandon and cheer, whisper is a wellspring of whimsy and randomness guaranteed to give you something to grin about.

Currently, the Jabberwocky lies sleeping (a most excellent, though unquestionably sad, farewell post explains why), but browsing through various posts from the past is well worth your time if you wish for quality, clean, and (more often than not) random ponderings and such to muse over. Be ready for some book reviews and lots of wombat references.

Kudos and huzzah!

http://drawingthelinesomewhere.com/

Noelle may get most (if not all) of the credit in the department of inspiration for giving my blog wings, but I am certain that it still never would have gotten off the ground if not for Janice (I’ll call her Miss H). She was the teacher/tutor who gave the assignment to create a blog, as part of a discussion on various ways that people express their worldview. And while it’s true that I had been itching to make a blog for some time before that, I have no doubt whatsoever that this blog would still exist only in the nebulous world of Someday if not for the extra push. Thank you, Miss H!

(In case you’re wondering, the assignment did not require the blog to continue existing after being graded, but it was still the perfect excuse for me to finally dig in and get started in this whole blogging business.)

Interestingly enough, giving this assignment was apparently also a push for Miss H to create her own blog (which had also been in the making for some time). Topics range from book reviews, to theology quotes, to reflections on teaching and memories from growing up.

Kudos for giving the push that we both needed.

 

 

If this isn’t cheating, I don’t know what is. But I’ve been humbled on several occasions now by someone mentioning to me (in person usually) that they liked something I recently blogged, or they enjoy reading my blog in general, when I wasn’t even aware that they had ever been on my blog before. So frankly, I’m not sure how many people regularly visit my humble abode here online. It could be way more or way less than I think (and blog stats don’t always tell the truth either; hours spent poring over and reflecting on a single blog post and accidentally clicking the link when it comes up on Google both translate as “one view”).

Simply put, because these people don’t leave behind comments (I wish I knew why; I hope I’ve made it clear how much I enjoy reading them), I have no real record of their having been here. But they were here; they read what I had to say, and for that they have my sincere appreciation and thanks.

So, if you’ve tagged along for any length of time on this little journey with me, I really do hope that what I’ve had to say and the various things I’ve found to share have been encouraging, uplifting, thoughtworthy, and entertaining (when meant to be so), and that you’ll stick around for a while longer despite my many failings, especially my inconsistency in posting and inability to plan properly.

Speaking of which, now that the plans I laid out some time ago have been disfigured beyond recognition, I promise that the post concerning graduation I mentioned way back when is next in line (though how a post about graduation is relevant in the middle of summer is anyone’s guess). Be warned though, that it is currently the second-longest thing I have ever posted. Be afraid. Be very afraid.

Until then!

Wishing you a blessed rest of the summer,

~ Timothy

P.S. Whoops, forgot the last one there…

KUDOS!

4 responses to “Appreciating Readers (award): Kudos!

  1. Rachel July 14, 2012 at 11:20 am

    first again… dang im getting good at this.
    ALL *fist pump* the Frankness!

    -Frank

  2. Janice July 15, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Thank you Tim for nominating me. I am so glad you have continued your blog!

  3. Sarah August 4, 2012 at 10:58 am

    I still choose appreciation to Noelle for directing me to your most awesome home on the World Wide Web. Though, sometimes I still wonder why I was not informed of it more promptly!

    You never cease pushing me to follow Christ more faithfully, and for that I am very thankful. For that same reason, I plan to be a reader for as long as you keep blogging.

  4. Timothy August 4, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    @ Rachel/Frank
    Either you’re taking me too seriously, or not seriously enough, and I’m not sure which it is. =)

    @ Janice
    Believe me, I am too! (Thanks again for getting me started!) I hope I’ll be able to keep it up as I get busier in the fall. *hopeful*

    @ Sarah
    Most justifiably so. Promptness is…. not my strongest virtue when it comes to the Web. (Let’s just leave it at that.)

    God be praised that the little I have to offer can be used to help another in their walk. =) I hope and pray that I will continue to do so in the future!

Leave a Reply

