Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

So… why the Facebook?

For those of you who have known me for any length of time, the fact that I got a Facebook is probably a shock, or at least a surprise to you. I don’t blame you.

For years, I did not have/get/want a Facebook, often ignoring/dodging/rolling my eyes at friends who pleaded with me to get one, for the following reasons:

* I didn’t see the need for one. I can “keep in touch” with my friends by simply talking to them face-to-face, and also through email.

* I didn’t think I’d have the time. I hear it takes time to maintain these things.

* I didn’t want to risk hitting an extreme. I consider myself the kind of person who (if I got a Facebook) would either run to one extreme and never use it (thus defeating the purpose of getting one), or hit the other extreme and become a FB junkie. Neither of those were desirable outcomes to me, or worth the risk.

So now… why did I finally make one? Why did I finally “cave” and “join the dark side” (in the words of two teasing friends)? It’s simple really. Now that I’m going off to college, a need has come into being that didn’t exist before. I no longer have the option of simply saying that I’ll just talk to my friends the next time I see them, because I won’t be working and playing and moving in the same places anymore.

Simply put, I’ve heard that Facebook is a great way to maintain contact with people, and that’s basically what I aim to do. (I still like using email as a way to keep in touch and will continue to do so, especially for my non-Facebooking friends, but if most people would rather do it through Facebook, I want to accommodate that.) So after thinking for a while about it, I finally decided to make one (though my brother Jonathan still had to practically set it up for me since I never got around to it myself for some reason; go figure).

So what about my other two reasons for initially not wanting to get a Facebook? What’ll I do with those?

Frankly, I don’t fully know yet. But my desire to keep my friendships alive is strong enough to make me be willing to take those risks. They’re still valid (at least what I consider valid) concerns of mine, but I have a better reason to do it anyway. God has brought each friend into my life for a reason, and to let that relationship fade would be, as I’ve heard it said, “a lapse in stewardship.” I don’t want that to happen.

I want to continue to laugh with my friends, to encourage them and build them up and know what to pray for in their lives when things are going well and when they’re not. I want to keep the time-tested relationships I value as gold with me, even as I make new ones in my new environment. In other words, I just want to be a blessing to my friends; and I hope that my new risk will prove to be a tool that allows me to do that.

 *   *   *   *   *

I’d already posted this in my Notes on my FB account, but as the message is somewhat relevant even to my non-Facebooking friends (some of whom make up this audience), I thought I’d share it here too. Besides, I’m not going to pass up an easy opportunity to post something I have ready and written. Hope it made sense, and that you enjoyed reading it!

Loquaciously yours,

  ~ Timothy

One response to “So… why the Facebook?

  1. Sarah Beth August 11, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I created my Facebook for basically the same reason. So many of my friends have quit using e-mail altogether (One friend has actually forgotten her login!), or they simply prefer Facebook. So, I too joined “the dark side” about a week ago.

Leave a Reply

