Middling

The fancies and reflections of a loquacious ninja

An exceptional (and very temporary) substitute

Videos make poor substitutes for substantial blog posts (especially on a long-term basis). But on occasion, I suppose, we can allow for exceptions.

My brother went to San Diego last week with his dance company! Seeing how much he’s grown as a dancer never fails to amaze me, and I know he enjoys what he does profusely. Let’s just say that I’m proud of him.

If you’re not familiar with urban dance and all its varieties (in this routine alone, they perform house, African, voguing, locking, straight-up choreography, and probably a plethora of other things I don’t even recognize), you may have a harder time appreciating what you see. However, the more exposure you gain, the more you may find yourself respecting, even savoring the pure artistry and dedication of many of these dancers, as well as their craft (at least that’s been my experience). Your preferred style of dance may ever belong on the opposite end of the spectrum from these, but I think learning to admire from afar is something all partakers of art experience at one time or another. At any rate, I think the unity executed in this piece is a quality any dancer can appreciate.

See for yourself:

I don’t celebrate Halloween, or consider myself a fan of the whole Haunted House business. I understand that other people may enjoy it, but frankly, I don’t see much of a point to it all.

But this I can appreciate:

Wishing you well,

~ Timothy

Leave a Reply

